Spiritual Fathering and The Kingdom of God

6 Jun

    February 16th, 1997 is a day I will never forget.  It’s the day that my father Earl Johnson passed away unexpectedly.  He went in the hospital on Friday with what was thought to be a bad case of the flu, and by Sunday evening he was gone at the age of 42, as the result of an infected gall bladder.  I was 17 years old and a senior in high school.  That was a day that my life was changed forever. 

     My father was a Pastor for more than 15 years, as well as my basketball coach in recreational leagues growing up.  He was always there for me guiding me and shaping me into the man that I was becoming, and I thought he would always be there to answer any questions I might have or solve any problems that might arise as I experienced life’s challenges.  But as I quickly discovered that would not be the case.  However before his passing my father instilled in me a knowledge of God’s Word, and a faith that has carried me many years into my adult life.  

     In the absence of my father I found myself hungry for someone that could fulfill that role of shepherding my heart the way that my biological father did growing up.  Little did I know that God was using the loss I had experienced to process within me a desire for a Spiritual Father, as well as a desire to be a Spiritual Father to others.  The Bible teaches us that THE FATHER GOD sent His Son JESUS, to be the redeeming agent of many sons.  Luke 3:38 tells us that Adam was known as the son of God in the beginning.  So in essence Jesus came that he might redeem Adam, His lost brother, as well as many others, and restore us to sonship in the Kingdom of God.  And it is important for us to understand that sonship is not gender specific.  The use of that term simply speaks to the nature of our relationship to The Father as bearing His image.   

     Romans 8:19 tells us that “creation eagerly awaits the manifestation of the sons of God”.  There cannot be a manifestation of sons without the presence of Godly fathers.  Never before have we lived in a generation of absent fathers as we live in today.  And we wonder why there is so much chaos in the world.  Could it be that all of the calamity and bad news we hear about is nothing more than creation’s cry for the sons of God to manifest and put the world back in order according to the mandate originally given to Adam?  I am fully aware that God the Father is our heavenly father, in the absence of earthly fathers, and that ultimately the redeeming work of Christ is the ultimate restorer of order.  But I am also keenly aware that God is very serious about the ministry of reconciliation He has given to us (2 Corinthians 5:18) as a part of that work.  For such is the Kingdom of God at work in the world today.  So my question is not Where is God in the midst of all of the craziness, but rather my question becomes; where are the Spiritual Fathers?

3 Responses to “Spiritual Fathering and The Kingdom of God”

  1. Ramona Moree June 6, 2013 at 10:54 am #

    Oh, how I remember that day; but more importantly, oh, how I remember your dad. We loved him so. He was the “start” of the awakening that took place in our lives. He was into the contemporary move “decades” before any of us. His love for praise and worship opened our eyes to the powerful ministry in each song. To him, I will forever be grateful. I know that when he is singing he makes the angels say, “Check that boy out! “

  2. John Ray June 9, 2013 at 4:29 am #

    Good word brother. I’m learning more about being a spiritual son lately (coming off of the ATI Conference and the personal dealings of God in my life) and also coming into the realization of the Kingdom mandate God has for me, which includes being a son and a father.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. UNDERSTANDING A FATHERS’ HEART AS A LEADER | VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM - June 11, 2013

    […] Spiritual Fathering and The Kingdom of God (aaronjohnsonflc.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

